Thanksgiving Feasts and the Start of Christmas Crafts

Good morning! The holiday season is in full swing and I just love it!

This was the first year that I was able to go down to NC with Wes for his families big Thanksgiving celebration-took 7 years but I finally made it down there!

img_5852

Not going to lie, I was dreading the trip a little bit. Between being 31 weeks pregnant and traveling with a 21 monther, I just pictured a lot of stops needed because I had use the bathroom or had to change Js diaper, or he was fussy and then of course the traffic. It just seemed so exhausting. However, we lucked out. Wes managed to avoid most of the traffic, we only stopped once at Chick Fil A to use the bathroom, eat and stretch out some. Jameson did very well on the trip down and back up-a big thank you to Baby Signing Time for keeping him happy and distracted when he started getting fussy. Well that and Doritos…

We enjoyed time with Wes’ side of the family and ate a lot of amazing food (not kidding when I say A LOT, we had six turkeys!)! We got to walk on the beach which is always a pick-me-up and just get away for awhile.

We got home around 1:00 on Saturday, had time to change and then hop back in the car to have a second Thanksgiving with my Dad’s side of the family. Luckily that drive was a lot shorter but we were very exhausted at the end of they day and couldn’t wait to be in our own beds! It was a great Thanksgiving and I’m so thankful we got to spend it with family.

img_5873

So, you may have seen a post floating around about Felt Christmas Trees for toddlers. On Sunday, I took a stab at it for Jameson. It actually turned out pretty good-if I do say so myself….ok, ok, it was my second attempt. My first tree was….sad. Wes told me I couldn’t hang it where he had to look at it 😳! The second time I made it a little easier on myself and it turned out great! Even better, Chooch loves it! He is so proud of himself when he gets his ornaments and presents on his tree. It’s seriously adorable and I’m glad I did it!

Last night we got J his first REAL Christmas Tree! I’m so excited about it! We’ve had a fake tree my grandma gave us for the last 6 years and I wanted to start the tradition of going to pick one out with the kids and figured this will be Js last Christmas as an only child, he deserves his own trip! Perhaps his felt tree will distract him enough from messing with the real one? Hey, a girl can dream.

I love our tree! Seriously, you can’t beat the smell of a live tree, it makes the house smell…cleaner somehow and I love it. Wes also got us some live Garland and bows to decorate our bow window out front.

We don’t have lights or ornaments on our tree yet, we’ve had the fake one that was pre-lit, never had to buy the lights before. Hopefully we’ll solve that tonight and our living room will really start feeling the Christmas magic. Last year I had some pictures of Chooch looking up at our lit tree for the first time and they were some of my favorites of him. There’s something about seeing Christmas in the eyes of a child-even if they don’t really know what’s going on yet, I’m pretty sure they can still feel it.

Monday I hit 32 weeks pregnant. Today, Jameson is 22 months old! Time is flying and I’m pretty much feeling everything there possibly is to feel: happy, exhausted, excited, exhausted again, emotional, hormonal, exhausted. So much going on, so much to do, and we’re trying to take it all in.

Hoping everyone’s holiday season is off to a great start!

Leave a comment